2014 Leadership Awards Reception

On July 17, 2014, the SGVCOG held the 10th Annual Awards Ceremony, recognizing individuals and organizations that have made a significant contribution to the San Gabriel Valley.  The following individuals and groups were recognized:


Jack Phillips AwardBikeSGV - Javier Hernandez & Wesley Reutimann

The Jack Phillips Award is presented to those that champion innovation in the San Gabriel Valley.  BikeSGV was founded in 2009, with a mission of making the San Gabriel Valley a safer, healthier, and more enjoyable place for cycling by educating the community about the benefits of cycling.  It has had much success in mobilizing the cities around bicycle planning, partnering with SGV cities to secure funding for a San Gabriel Valley Bicycle Master Plan, supporting efforts to bring Open Streets events to the region, and working with the COG to submit 2 applications to the statewide Active Transportation Program (ATP). 

Pasadena resident Wesley Reutimann is an SGV native and former mountain/road bike racer turned public health advocate.  Wesley is a founding member of BikeSGV and currently serves as the organization's Development Director and Board Secretary. He has a decade of experience in the non-profit and education sector, and currently serves as Director of Environmental Prevention for Day One, a Pasadena-based public health advocacy and youth development non-profit.

A life-long resident of the San Gabriel Valley and Cal State Fullerton graduate, Javier Hernandez has a passion for sharing the  rewards of a bicycle lifestyle with  residents of the San Gabriel Valley. He has over a decade of experience in the non-profit sector working with at-risk-youth for organizations such as the YMCA, Choices Camp, Cal State LA and the California Center for Public Health Advocacy. Javier currently works for Day One as the Project Manager for the San Gabriel Valley Bicycle Master Plan.  He also serves as the Program Director for BikeSGV where he has pioneered efforts to advance Statewide sustainability initiatives at the local level.  


Mr. Reutimann and Mr. Hernandez were recognized for the leadership that they have provided in making this innovative organization - BikeSGV - the leader a model for other regions nationwide in bringing bicycling and healthy living to the forefront.   

Judy Wright Award: Hasan Ikhrata 

The Judy Wright Award is presented to those that champion leadership in the San Gabriel Valley.  Hasan Ikhrata has served as the Executive Director of the Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG), the largest metropolitan planning organization in the country, since 2008.  He has over 25 years of public and private sector experience in transportation planning in Southern California and has also worked for the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Metro) and the South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD).  He has been received several awards and honors for his leadership, including MOVE LA, the American Society of Public Administration (ASPA), the Southern California Leadership Council (SCLC), and the Four Corners Transportation Summit.  Mr. Ikhrata was recognized for the leadership he has shown in support of the San Gabriel Valley.  

Spirit of Service: Shahrzad Amiri 

As the Deputy Executive Officer responsible for the San Gabriel Valley Subregion at the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transit Authority (Metro), Shahrzad has served as the San Gabriel Valley’s Metro liaison for the past 11 years.  She has worked with San Gabriel Valley jurisdictions and the COG on a multi-modal suite of programs and projects including the ACE Project, Gold Line Foothill Extension, and the SR 710 North Extension, as well as Highway, goods movement, signal synchronization and active transportation/sustainability efforts.  She has over 24 years of experience in transportation planning and implementation.  Shahrzad graduated with a Masters of Science degree in Community and Regional Planning from the University of Texas at Austin.  Ms. Amiri was recognized for the service that goes above and beyond the call of duty that she provides to the SGVCOG as a staff member at Metro.   

Consensus Building Award: Angel Carrillo

A lifelong Azusa resident, Angel Carrillo has spent his entire career in dedication and service to the San Gabriel Valley.  Elected to the Azusa City Council in 2005, much of his focus in Azusa has been on redevelopment efforts, revitalizing the Azusa downtown and ensuring the City's future success.He has served as President of the League of California Cities, LA Division and of the SGVCOG.  Angel has a Bachelor's degree from Cal State University, LA in Social Science and earned a teaching credential from Azusa Pacific University.  He worked for 16 years in local school districts, has worked as a government relations consultant and is now employed working in Economic Development for a local municipality.  Councilmember Carrillo was recognized for his efforts to bring San Gabriel Valley stakeholders together to bring a SuperScooper firefighting aircraft to the region full-time.  

Consensus Building Award: John Fasana 

John Fasana was first elected to Duarte City Council in 1987.  He has served as the San Gabriel Valley's representative on Metro since its formation in 1993.  He currently serves as 2nd Vice-Chair and previously served as Chair during FY 2001-2002.  He also represents Metro on the Gold Line Foothill Construction Authority. 


John has represented the City of Duarte on the SGVCOG’s Governing Board since its formation in 1994 and has served as Chair of the COG’s transportation committee for twenty years.  In that time, he has been a tireless advocate for the San Gabriel Valley’s transportation needs.  He was instrumental in the formation of the Gold Line Foothill Construction Authority and in securing funding for both Phase 1 (downtown Los Angeles to Pasadena) and Phase 2A (Pasadena to Azusa).  He also worked to secure funding for a number of other critical transportation projects in the San Gabriel Valley, including the Alameda Corridor-East Construction Authority (ACE), the El Monte Transit Center I-210 Soundwalls, and the I-10/I-605 Interchange.  Councilmember Fasana is being recognized for his years of service in support of San Gabriel Valley transportation priorities as SGVCOG Transportation Chair and on the Metro Board.  

Sustainability Award: City of San Gabriel

In 2012, the City of San Gabriel began the process of “Greening the Code,” incorporating “green” principles into its zoning regulations.  Working with its consultants, the City identified and removed unintended regulatory barriers and crafted Code amendments that offer incentives, greater flexibility, and more clarity.  The City engaged in significant internal and external stakeholder outreach to develop a code that served the City’s needs. 


In total, 40 amendments were made to the Code, grouped under 6 themes: landscaping, open space, parking, development standards, use regulations, and tributary channel guidelines.  Some of the new green elements include reforming open-space requirements in multi-family housing to allow for more usable common space and community gardens, and establishing mechanisms to turn the banks of drainage channels into open space.

San Gabriel Valley Council of Governments

1000 S. Fremont Ave; Unit 42 - Bldg. A-10N, Suite 10-210; Alhambra, CA 91803 

(626) 457-1800         sgv@sgvcog.org